Nine More Sleeps!

My daughter face-booked me the other day:  “I know a little girl who is very excited for u to come home. She keeps asking me how many more sleeps!!”

Well, as of today, March 22, we have eight more sleeps till we’re home (safely, I hope) in our other bed.

I’m excited, but sad at the same time. It’s a terrible predicament to be in, actually. We’ve been here in our home in Mexico (I hate to mention the area, cause I don’t want a bombardment of more northerners to flow here) since February 1. We’re usually here four or five months a year, but this winter it’ll only be two months.

I love it here. Absolutely, unequivocally adore it here. There’s not one thing I don’t like, except maybe the teeny ants that seem to invade my territory and the occasional huge “picture” spider. Some people call them “wallpaper” spiders; I use both names for them. They are humongous creatures and my worst enemies. But I digress…

The “little girl” my daughter referred to is my granddaughter, Taylor. I miss her, as well as her younger brother, Caden, and my son’s children, Kyla and Abby. Four grandchildren – what proud grandmother could ask for more?

I love them to death, my grandchildren. They are my pride and joy – my everything. I just can’t imagine my life without them. And I don’t know how I existed before they entered my life. They’ve made me complete, as cliché-ish as that sounds!

Okay, I know I’m over the top when it comes to my grandchildren, but I can’t help it. That’s another story…you may find it somewhere on my website.

So, back to the original purpose of this post: one week and a day or so before we leave our warm winter’s paradise and head back to cold Canada. We are hoping, however, that spring will have sprung before our plane lands!

Ajijic, Mexico, is a gorgeous place – our second home. Hubbie and I love it so much here, but that’s another story, as well. Suffice to say, if I didn’t have grandchildren back home in Nova Scotia, I’d probably be begging him to live here forever. I guess one has to be careful what one wishes for – I wished for years for grandchildren, but if I didn’t have them, I could possibly remain here in this paradise forever.

But, things happen for a reason. And I have my grandchildren. And I’d never ever give them up, not for anything in the entire world. And so, we will return back to cold Canada to wait for summer (just as we’ll return back here for the next winter). And I can’t wait to get back to Nova Scotia, cause I can’t wait to hug and kiss my grandchildren. More than that – I can’t wait to receive their hugs and kisses. I know it’s better to give than to receive, but when those little darlings wrap their arms around me and hold me tight and slobber their wet lips on mine, well…who could ask for more?

Not me. There’s nothing more I could wish for.

So, like Taylor, I’m counting my sleeps. Eight more sleeps until I’m back in my Canadian bed. And, since we arrive home at midnight, it’ll be nine more sleeps until I see my precious little beings.

Nine more sleeps, Taylor. Are you still counting them like I am?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

