Wish You Were Home!

I opened an email from my daughter yesterday morning: “Wish you were home. I could use a chat right now!”

Of course, I read between the lines, thinking something drastic had happened. I’ve been in Mexico for the past five weeks, with another three weeks to go. My only daughter and I are close, and when I’m home, we usually talk every day.

I sent off a quick email telling her we’d be out for the morning, but would be home around noon, although we’d be busy entertaining in the afternoon and into the evening. I told her to email me back with an explanation and I’d try to sneak off to read it.

When I came back to my computer mid-afternoon, her email read: “Nothing’s wrong. Just missing our chats.”

Those weren’t the words I expected.  How sweet to read – her missing our conversations. I had no idea she felt that way.

One can take things for granted sometimes, until that “something” is gone.

Ah, it’s so nice to feel wanted and loved!


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

