Premonitions

Last night I had a premonition, although I didn’t realize it at the time. It was one of those rare nights that I fell asleep very quickly, but barely a few minutes later, my inert body suddenly rose from the bed as if I were the lead player in an exorcism.

“What’s wrong?” hubbie asked me.

“I slipped in the mud,” I mumbled.

Hubbie laughed several times. I rolled over and fell back to sleep, with what felt like a pulled muscle in my stomach. How could I have pains from an imaginary fall?

You know how those falls go: your foot steps on something slippery and you slide forward, but somehow you manage to catch yourself just in time before you fall flat on your back. That’s what happened in that miniscule second of a dream.

This morning, my husband and I were out on our usual early morning run, in an attempt to lose a few pounds and tone up. I call it our “run,” but it is really just a brisk walk. We walk as fast as we can for an hour (approximately four miles), me with my royal blue and black colour-coordinated gear: three-pound wrist weights, clothing and sneakers. I must stand out like a sore thumb.

But, back to my premonition. We’ve had an unusual three days of solid rain here in Mexico, so there were patches of mud along the side of the highway where we walk. When I stepped into the first muddy area, my right foot suddenly gave way. It was then when my dream (premonition) from the night before washed over me, quickly enough that I was able to catch myself. Several times after that, I felt my foot slipping when I hit a wet area, but because of my premonition, I was able to stay upright.

I’ve never had a dream come true before. Why would it be that mundane dream of all the dreams I’ve dreamt in my life?  But…Cupid arrives tomorrow. Maybe tonight I’ll dream of love and sweet nothings.


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

